Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Mine

I can’t deny this is ‘mine’ a reflection of ‘me’.  Where I’m from, this month is a month we bring up awareness in Breast Cancer.  I am a 3 year breast cancer survivor and when I saw this today as I prepared to take a picture of my favorite seat with my favorite coffee and bread, I immediately felt what I feel when I see anything that reminds me of the journey that transformed the “me” who survives today! I knew this was ‘mine’.  These lights that shine brightly in the color that represents the many who battle today, yesterday and tomorrow are ‘me’.  I wear the scars that this tree embodies in the message it brightly expresses yet many don’t know. They don’t know why, how, what or who this is for. They probably just see a beautifully lit tree but can’t hear the loud message it is sending to the many out there who will be ‘me’.  Who are walking with those cells getting ready to turn on them, getting ready to take over, to take and take and take.  Breast Cancer takes, takes the very essence of what girls look forward to when growing up.  I recall the exercise as a young girl that we would play as we held our palms together chanting, “we must, we must, we must increase our bust”.  I also recall young girls stuffing their bras to increase that of what one so was eager to grow into.  Scary to know that the very part we so define our femininity with  is also the very part that kills so many.  Breast Cancer takes, it takes your hair, your body image, your bodies stamina, your breasts… and if you don’t catch it early enough, it will take your life.

This is Mine!

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Mine

  1. Isn’t that what photography is about. About capturing a portion of your soul in every photo, in that is how or what you are thinking or feeling at the precise moment a photo opportunity turns into a great shot. Love it and how you used it to depict your survival of breast cancer. Kudos to you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

